A key focus of the National Quality Framework (NQF) is to promote continuous quality improvement of early childhood education and care services through the national quality Assessment and Rating process.

The Assessment and Rating process has 4 steps:

  1. self-assessment and reflection
  2. improvement planning
  3. assessment and rating visit
  4. publication of ratings

All services operating and approved under the Education and Care Services National Regulations and Law are assessed and rated by their state or territory regulatory authority. Services are assessed against the 7 quality areas of the National Quality Standard (NQS) and an overall rating based on these results is given.

The ratings are:

Excellent rating, awarded by ACECQA

Exceeding National Quality Standard

Meeting National Quality Standard

Working Towards National Quality Standard

Significant Improvement Required

Excellent rating – Services rated Exceeding the National Quality Standard, and which meet the criteria for excellence, are eligible to apply for this rating as awarded by ACECQA.

Assessment and Rating is a collaborative process between the Regulatory Authority and Early Childhood Education and Care services with a vision to promote transparency and accountability to assist families assess the quality of education and care of services as published on the national registers and MyChild websites.


To Top